We're staying in a Petersburg dorm for the weekend and are supposed to move into our real homes tomorrow. But I won't be, because my host mom got sick a few days ago and is currently in the hospital. Apparently the home stay coordinator informed ACTR of this already, but the information was never passed onto me. Until she gets out, it looks like I'll be staying at the dorm. The home stay coordinator seems to think she should be out within a week, but she's going to check on the situation anyway. Not really sure what she got sick with. Not really sure what's happening at all. Don't really care though. As long as I get there soon.
Russia. Well at least it's proof that you can get sick in the summer.
We got cell phones/SIM cards today and walked a bit more around the city. Nothing really exciting has happened yet. Last night we were in town and a man took a picture of me. He walked up, showed me the picture and asked if I wanted to buy it. He also asked me where I was from. Since I was an AMERICAN refusing to BUY SOMETHING, he informed me I was cheap. He was serious, but I laughed. Then walked away. This wouldn't have happened in Vladimir. This may be my second time in Russia but my first living in a big city. Which we were all also reminded of by the fireworks that went off outside our dorm building about two hours after we'd all fallen fast asleep. And of course all our windows were open to let the breeze in. They weren't the pretty kind of fireworks, they were the loud illegal kind.
I got гречка с капустой и яйцом и вода с газом at Теремок. Maybe they are frequented for their блины but the гречка was delicious. Even better than the stuff they served at the school last semester. And super cheap. I think I know where I'll be eating lunch from now on. I also got a пирог с капустой last night for dinner, and it was also delicious. Conclusion: cabbage is a wonder food.
The weather is perfect. Is there anything better than the wind?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Very interesting, Junior!
ReplyDelete